Suck It and See

From Gentle Giant Home Page
Jump to navigation Jump to search

About the Album

A multi-artist vinyl compilation (Vertigo 6641 116) including one Gentle Giant track, The Boys In The Band.

The gatefold album had a laminated white cover with a cartoon red and white striped stick of Seaside Rock (familiar to UK readers), with the words "Suck It And See" written in red all through the stick. By the release of this sampler, Vertigo had moved to the Roger Dean "Spaceships" label rather than the classic "Swirl" label, although the swirl was incorporated into the new design.

The album is also notable for the only official release of the Jade Warrior track "Mwenga Sketch," which was slated for a new Vertigo Jade Warrior album that never saw the light of day.

(Thanks to Alun Roach for the above information.)

Track List

  1. Black Sabbath - Children Of The Grave
  2. Beggar's Opera - Get Your Dog Off Me
  3. Gentle Giant - The Boys In The Band
  4. Atlantis - Living At The End Of Time
  5. Kraftwerk - Ruckzuck
  6. Jade Warrior - Mwenga Sketch
  7. Aphrodite's Child - The Four Horsemen
  8. The Sensational Alex Harvey Band - Jungle Jenny
  9. Status Quo - Don't Waste My Time
  10. John Dummer's Oobleedooblee Band - Oobleedooblee Jubilees
  11. Jim Croce - Roller Derby Queen
  12. Rod Stewart - It's All Over Now
  13. The Spencer Davis Group - Catch You On The Rebop
  14. Jackson Heights - Bump 'n' Grind
  15. Ian Matthews - Devil In Disguise
  16. Magna Carta - Time For The Leaving
  17. Manfred Mann's Earthband - Buddah

Single disc version

Single-disc version

This album also came out in a single disc version, Vertigo 6499 447, also in 1973, with some different tracks:

  1. Black Sabbath - Paranoid
  2. The Sensational Alex Harvey Band - Jungle Jenny
  3. Jackson Heights - Bump 'n' Grind
  4. Beggar's Opera - Get Your Dog Off Me
  5. Gentle Giant - A Cry For Everyone
  6. Jade Warrior - Holy Roller
  7. Jim Croce - Good Time Man Like Me Ain't Got No Business (Singin' the Blues)
  8. Status Quo - Paper Plane
  9. Atlantis - Rock 'n' Roll Preacher
  10. Ian Matthews - Devil in Disguise
  11. Beggar's Opera - Get Your Dog off Me
  12. The Spencer Davis Group - Catch You on the Rebop
  13. Rod Stewart - Gasoline Alley