Giant Edits

From Gentle Giant Home Page
Jump to navigationJump to search

About the Album

Giant Edits was a vinyl-only release from Capitol (reported to me as SPRO-8558 and CXP 4DJ) sent to radio stations and journalists. It contains heavily edited versions of the tracks from Playing The Fool, cut down for radio play.

This album came in a plain, white paper sleeve.

Thanks to Biffy the Elephant Shrew and Joerg Weinert for the information on this page. ("Can you imagine some ultra-hip FM disc jockey in 1977 actually bothering to play a 1:30 edit of 'Peel The Paint?' Or 'Sweet Georgia Brown?'" - Biffy)

Track List

Side One

  1. Just The Same (3:55)
  2. Advent of Panurge (Excerpts From Octopus) (3:20) — mistitled "Advent of Parange"
  3. On Reflection (2:40)
  4. Sweet Georgia Brown (1:10)
  5. Experience (4:45)

Side Two

  1. The Runaway (3:40)
  2. Funny Ways (4:50)
  3. Knots (Excerpts from Octopus) (2:26)
  4. Peel The Paint (1:30)
  5. Free Hand (4:37)